Faculty Pilot Projects

 

Principal Investigator: Carolyn Bergstrom
Title: Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis and the development of a predictive model of the health and energetic status of estuarine fishes
Abstract: Ecosystem health is reflected in the health of its organisms, including their nutritional suitability for consumption by humans. This project builds on the development of a new tool, Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis, to assess chemical composition and energetic quality of ocean fish near human establishments in southeast Alaska. These data will quantify current fish quality from these habitats, and provide a baseline in case of future habitat perturbations.
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/20
Institution: University of Alaska Southeast, Juneau Campus
Email: cabergstrom@alaska.edu
Staff page: http://www.uas.alaska.edu/dir/cabergstrom.html/

 
 

Principal Investigator: Andrea Bersamin
Title: Tundra to table: Instruments and education pilot testing
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/21
Institution: UAF
Email: abersamin@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: Jinqiu Mao
Title: Characterizing transition metals in ambient PM2.5: A link to air pollution and human health
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/23
Institution: UAF
Email: jmao2@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: Mary Beth Leigh
Title: Phytoremediation of diesel-contaminated soil in rural Alaska
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/22
Institution: UAF
Email: mbleigh@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: Heidi Pearson
Title: Innovations in biologger technology to assess ocean health
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/24
Institution: UAS-Juneau
Email: hcpearson@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: David Tallmon
Title: Rural Undergraduate Research and Learning using Salmon Adaptation Genomics and Experiments (RURALSAGE)
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/25
Institution: UAS-Juneau
Email: datallmon@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: Maegan Weltzin
Title: Rabies glycoprotein interacts with neuronal nicotinic acetylcholine
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/26
Institution: UAF
Email: mmweltzin@alaska.edu

 
 

Principal Investigator: Lei Zhang
Title: Porous metal–organic-framework carrier as a potential platform for drug
Dates of Award: 7/1/18-6/30/27
Institution: UAF
Email: lzhang14@alaska.edu